Death and life

cold barren garden
ah ! I don’t have to worry
coix seed beads in hand

image

photo ( web )

Coix seed  or Job’s tears seed is  traditionally used in the days of our pagan culture as it symbolises or give meaning about death and life .
these seeds have holes in the middle and have hard shells . people put a string in it and use it as a necklace ,not for ornamental purpose but for the pagan religious purposes .  ..but why this seed ?
The answer lies in its capability of growing even after decades of using it as beads of necklace or rosary (Asians also use stringed beads for prayer ) this is why it is used as a rosary or necklace symbolising  ” death gives life meaning ”

for,

Carpe Diem Theme Week #1 episode 4: The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying: Insight 3 “thinking about death gives life meaning”

19 thoughts on “Death and life

      1. Suzanne

        Hi Milan. Sorry I didn’t explain that the post by Sue on my new blog Sukaiku is actually by me – Suzanne 🙂 I’m reinventing myself and/or going by an alias. Sorry about the confusion.

  1. Cheryl-Lynn

    How interesting, this reference to these beads. I have several rosaries from my youth and in the past few years I have been drawn by mala beads and mantras and Amma, of course. The more I journey on this spiritual path I see death as part of it and my life does feel more meaningful.

    Reply
    1. milan rajkumar Post author

      I think you are right about the journey . its not how you learn the path to spirituality but the consistent journey which brings you nearer to moksha or nirvana ! Some give example of moksha or nirvana very empirically , like ” endless orgasm ” ( no obscenity intended )

      Reply

Leave a Reply

