old pond

furu ike ya kawazu tobikomu mizu no oto

the old pond;
a frog jumps in —
the sound of the water

© Basho (Tr. R.H.Blyth)

as I ponder once again to the great master’s timeless masterpiece of old pond , something plop out of my mind relating to the frog
…..

the lotus leaves sway
and the small ripple expands –
as the frog jumps

now if it is written in my vernacular it can be transcribed like this

 

thamna na leng e

epom duna theng bada –

hangoi na chong e

 

milan rajkumar

a tribute to the master who lured me to the world of haiku

for,
Carpe Diem Vernacular, with a twist #1 the old pond

13 thoughts on “old pond

    1. milan rajkumar Post author

      O thanks Harris …..unconsciously I have been too much engrossed in the old pond that I have totally forgotten the frog save the surrounding .
      Thank you very much , you taught me a new concept today !

      Reply

Leave a Reply

